The beautiful fortress surrounds the small Romanesque church of St Martin
The commune of Beaufort is part of the canton of Olonzac, in the district of Béziers, in the heart of the Hérault department. With a peak at 86 metres above sea level, it has developed along the Beaufort river.
It offers a great variety of reliefs and is geologically interesting. Its wine castle and its Romanesque church, Saint-Martin de Beaufort, are remarkable.
The road D910, between Olonzac and Saint-Pons, remains an important crossing point; it connects the mountains to the north and the Minervois plain to the south.
From the top of its hill, this charming little village owes its name to Bello-forti (Beautiful fortress) (1135). At an altitude of 86m, 160 Beaufortais live in this village.
A little bit of history
Beaufort, a wine-growing village, also developed in the 19th century, thanks to the extraction of lignite in the Serre mines, which are now closed. The village, which stretches out on the hill, topped by the old castle (1135), has a number of narrow streets with names as evocative as they are picturesque: rue Bombecul, rue des Petits cartables (little school bags)...
:: The wine castle (For safety reasons, the castle cannot be visited)
:: The Romanesque church, Saint-Martin de Beaufort (open during services only - to consult the timetable: Masses)